On Monday the European Individual Chess Championship 2014 started in Yerevan, Armenia with over 260 players from 27 countries. The ceremonial first move was made by Silvio Danailov, President of the European Chess Union. The top seeds are Etienne Bacrot (France), Pavel Eljanov (Ukraine) and Dmitry Jakovenko (Russia).

Flags at the opening ceremony | Photos courtesy of the official website