Can a white king move adjacent to a black king if the white king is protected by another white piece?

Posted by on Jan 5, 2013 in Chess Pieces FAQ | 3 comments

Question by spunjb: Can a white king move adjacent to a black king if the white king is protected by another white piece?
I’m playing chess and I have the following situation: I moved my white king next to my opponent’s black king and my king was protected with a bishop. Is it illegal for me to move my king adjacent to the black king, even if it puts him in checkmate and it is impossible for my opponent to take my king (as it would be taken by my bishop)? Would this be a stalemate or checkmate? Or neither because I can’t make the move moving my king adjacent to my opponent’s?

Best answer:

Answer by Huh?
You can’t make the move. The Black King could take your king and the game is over so your bishop’s position is meaningless, the game would be over.

Add your own answer in the comments!

Read More